Is Robinhood Safe?

Experts weigh in + why I moved my funds off the platform

Lauren Como
3 min readDec 13, 2022
Photo Credit: Investing.com

I don’t want this post to be perceived as me bashing Robinhood.

I used them for a very long time, and I’m grateful for the precedent that they set across the industry — that trading should be free.

They’ve continued to innovate and offer interesting products that other brokerages do not (like their new Roth/Traditional IRA accounts that come with a 1% match).

Hopefully, other brokerages will soon follow suit and offer a matching program.

Lastly, they’ve become popular amongst young investors, and investing using Robinhood is superior to not investing at all.

With all of that said, they have struggled as a company, have been losing money, are facing multiple lawsuits, and their customer support isn’t the greatest… thus I’ve decided to discontinue using them.

What if Robinhood goes bankrupt?

I have no idea if Robinhood will be around in the next 5, 10, or 15 years.

This is pure speculation on my end, but I’d assume there’s a higher probability of them being acquired by a larger brokerage before bankruptcy.

--

--